The Monrad G. Paulsen Competition, named after Cardozo's first Dean, is an intramural competition, sponsored by the Moot Court Honor Society, which provides a forum for second and third year students to compete for recognition as Cardozo's best advocates. All upper level students are eligible to participate. Entrants write briefs which are evaluated by the Moot Court Honor Society Editorial Board and faculty members. Entrants then participate in an "elimination style" oral advocacy tournament which is judged by faculty, practicing attorneys and judges. Students submit a brief on one of the two issues of law before the court and orally argue both issues over several nights of competition. Students with the best oral and written scores advance progressively to semi-final and final rounds. On the basis of their performance in the competition, some participants are invited to join the Moot Court Honor Society.

On September 26 and 27, the Moot Court Honor Society hosted 22 competitors for their annual Monrad G. Paulsen Intramural Moot Court Competition. The competition was run under the direction of Competition Editor Chava Thomas and her team of Competition Assistants, Daniel Kessler, Eugenia Fowlkes, Pranav Katti, and Yasmine Bailey. The presiding judges at the Final Round on October 14 included Judge Sarah Netburn, Magistrate Judge of the Southern District of New York, Judge Paul G. Feinman, Associate Judge of the New York Court of Appeals, and Justice Dianne Renwick, Associate Justice of the New York Appellate Division of the Supreme Court for the First Appellate Division. You can find a video of the final round here

The winners of the 2018 Competition were:

Neil Kosslyn '19        Best Oralist

Griffin Sloan '20        2nd Place Oralist

Tamar Rosen '19       Best Brief 

Haley Levinson '20    2nd Place Brief


The Winners of the 2017 Competition were:

Jessica Goodreault '18 1st Place Oralist
Naomi Jawahar '17 2nd Place Oralist
Jessica Goodreault '18 1st Place Brief
Naomi Jawahar '17 2nd Place Brief

2017 Monrad G. Paulsen Competition Final Round:

Watch video here.

The Winners of the 2016 Competition were:

Cealagh Fitzpatrick '17 1st Place Oralist
Michael Ricottone '18 2nd Place Oralist
Amanda Coleman '17 1st Place Brief
Michael Ricottone '18 2nd Place Brief

The 2015 & 2016 videos are unavailable.

The Winners of the 2014 Competition were:

Krisen Niven '15 1st Place Oralist
Jon Wilcon '15 2nd Place Oralist
Christine Tsai '15 1st Place Brief
Brett Ruber '15 2nd Place Brief

2014 Monrad G. Paulsen Competition Final Round:

2014 Paulsen Competition - Final Round

The Winners of the 2013 Competition were:

Jonathan Lynn   '14 1st Place Oralist
David Kurlander  '14 2nd Place Oralist
David Kurlander  '14 1st Place Brief
Kyanna Lewis '15 2nd Place Brief

2013 Monrad G. Paulsen Competition Final Round:

Paulsen Competition 2013

The Winners of the 2012 Competition were:

Carl Hurvich   '14 1st Place Oralist
Timothy White  '14 2nd Place Oralist
Sheri Adler  '13 1st Place Brief
David Kurlander '14 2nd Place Brief

2012 Monrad G. Paulsen Competition Final Round:

2012 Paulsen Moot Court Final