Conference on Civil Liberties: Supreme Court Justice Stephen Breyer and Others: THIS EVENT IS NOT OPEN TO THE PUBLIC


March 31, 2019 - 9:45am to April 1, 2019 - 12:30pm
This roundtable, "A Passion for Civil Liberties: Building on the Legacy of Norman Dorsen" is organized by the International Association of Constitutional Law in conjunction with the US Association of Constitutional Law and the Floersheimer Center for Constitutional Democracy at Cardozo School of Law.

The Roundtable is open only to current Cardozo students, faculty and staff, who have received an invitation in their email. Please register using the link found in the email invitation.

Please contact Maura Gingerich if you cannot locate the invitation, or with any questions at

With Special Guests:
• Stephen Breyer, Justice, US Supreme Court
• Brenda Hale, President, UK Supreme Court
• Susanne Baer, Justice, Constitutional Court of Germany
• András Sajó, past Vice President, European Court of Human Rights
This roundtable will celebrate the life and legacy of Norman Dorsen (1930-2017), a preeminent civil libertarian scholar, advocate, and organizer. Dorsen was a member of the IACL Executive Committee, the founding president of the US Association of Constitutional Law, the founder and Editorial Director of the International Journal of Constitutional Law (I.CON), and a co-author (with Baer, Mancini, Rosenfeld and Sajo) of the casebook on Comparative Constitutionalism(2016).
For over half a century, Norman Dorsen carved out an exceptional career path combining advocacy, organizational leadership, and trend-setting legal scholarship. He argued many landmark constitutional cases involving civil liberties in the US Supreme Court, including the first case before that Court on the issue of abortion.
Professor Dorsen was the president of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) from 1976-1991, and the Frederick I. and Grace A. Stokes Professor of Law and Co-Director of the Arthur Garfield Hays Civil Liberties Program at New York University School of Law, where he specialized in Constitutional Law, Civil Liberties, and Comparative Constitutional Law.
Conference Schedule
Sunday, March 31, 2019
9:30 - 10:00 a.m. | Welcoming Remarks
• Dean Melanie Leslie, Cardozo School of Law
• Professor Deborah Pearlstein, Co-Director, Floersheimer Center for Constitutional Democracy
• Professor Adrienne Stone, President of the IACL
• Professor Michel Rosenfeld, President of the US Association of Constitutional Law
10 - 10:45 a.m. | Introduction: Norman Dorsen as a Civil Liberties Champion and Global Legal Education Visionary
• John Sexton, President Emeritus, New York University; Dean Emeritus and Benjamin F. Butler Professor of Law, NYU Law School
• Burt Neuborne, Norman Dorsen Professor of Civil Liberties, NYU Law School
11 a.m. - 1 p.m. | Roundtable Panel One: Judicial Perspectives on Civil Liberties Adjudication
• Susanne Baer, Justice of the Constitutional Court of Germany
• Stephen Breyer, Justice of the US Supreme Court
• Brenda Hale, President of the UK Supreme Court
• András Sajó, Past Vice President of the European Court of Human Rights; University Professor, Central European University
• Moderator: Professor Michel Rosenfeld, University Professor of Law and Comparative Democracy and Justice Sydney L. Robins Professor of Human Rights, Cardozo School of Law
3 - 5 p.m. | Roundtable Panel Two: Contemporary Challenges and Perspectives on Equality Rights
• Jamal Greene, Dwight Professor, Columbia University Law School
• Stéphanie Hennette-Vauchez, Professor, Paris Ouest Nanterre University
• Michael Karayanni, Dean and the Bruce W. Wayne Chair in International Law, Hebrew University of Jerusalem Faculty of Law
• Judith Resnik, Arthur Liman Professor of Law, Yale Law School
• Chair: Helle Krunke, Professor of Constitutional Law, University of Copenhagen Faculty of Law
Monday, April 1, 2019
10:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. | Roundtable Panel Three: Contemporary Challenges and Perspectives on Freedom of Speech
• David Cole, National Legal Director of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU)
• Stanley Fish, Floersheimer Distinguished Visiting Professor of Law, Cardozo School of Law
• Susanna Mancini, Professor and Chair of Comparative Constitutional Law, University of Bologna Faculty of Law
• Adrienne Stone, Kathleen Fitzpatrick Australian Laureate and Redmond Barry Distinguished Professor, University of Melbourne Law School
• Chair: Michael Herz, Arthur Kaplan Professor of Law, Cardozo School of Law
Please direct any questions about the conference to Maura at