The Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law is committed to supporting, encouraging and fostering an open and inclusive community that respects the dignity of each individual, embraces diversity as a means of promoting a learning environment, encourages an exchange of information, values, and ideas, and is free of discrimination, harassment, and intimidation.

The Dean’s Council on Diversity and Inclusion ("DCDI") was created to reinforce the law school’s commitment to encouraging an open and inclusive community; to contribute to the law school’s strategic plan by proposing initiatives to foster diversity and inclusion; and to provide a forum dedicated to the discussion of diversity-related challenges affecting Cardozo Law and the legal profession.  The mission of the Dean’s Council on Diversity and Inclusion is to advance diversity and inclusion at Cardozo Law and within the legal profession.

The membership of the DCDI is comprised of Cardozo administrators, alumni, faculty and students.  DCDI officers serve on the Executive Committee.  DCDI members are appointed to one of four standing committees: (1) academic success; (2) admissions; (3) careers; and (4) community engagement.

Executive Committee

  • Melanie B. Leslie, Dean, Professor of Law and DCDI Chair
  • Myriam E. Gilles, Vice Dean, Professor of Law and DCDI Vice Chair
  • Kim Ronning, Director of Academic Support and Chair of the DCDI Committee on Academic Success
  • John DeNatale, Assistant Dean of Communications and Public Affairs and Chair of the DCDI Committee on Admissions
  • Carey Bertolet Grand, Assistant Dean of Career Services and Chair of the DCDI Committee on Careers
  • Jennifer Kim, Director of the Office of Externships and Chair of the DCDI Committee on Community Engagement

Committee on Academic Success

  • Francesca Acocella '16, Law Clerk, Essex County Family Court
  • Myriam E. Gilles, Vice Dean and Professor of Law
  • Maricela Gonzalez '18, J.D. Candidate
  • Hon. Joseph A. Greenaway, Jr., United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit and Adjunct Professor of Law
  • Lenworth A. James Jr. '19, J.D. Candidate
  • Sarah F. Khan '18, J.D. Candidate
  • Gow W. Mosby Jr. '18, J.D. Candidate
  • Jonathan Oberman, Clinical Professor of Law and Director, Criminal Defense Clinic
  • M. Glen Parker '11, Principal Court Analyst, New York State Unified Court System
  • Kim Ronning '10, Director of Academic Support
  • Maria Saez Tatman, Dean of Students and Associate Dean of Student Services 
  • Sherry-Ann Smith-Gomez, Director of Career Services / Coordinator of Diversity Initiatives
  • Edward Stein, Professor of Law
  • Julie Suk, Professor of Law
  • Casandra Tolentino '15, Staff Attorney, Legal Aid Society

Committee on Admissions

  • John DeNatale, Assistant Dean of Communications and Public Affairs
  • Cynthia Devasia '02, Associate, Koehler & Isaacs LLP and Adjunct Professor of Law  
  • Reginald Greene '18, J.D. Candidate
  • Etai Lahav '06, Partner, Radulescu LLP
  • David G. Martinidez, Dean of Admissions
  • Val Myteberi '08, Assistant Dean of Graduate and International Programs
  • Leslie Newman, Professor of Law and Director, Lawyering and Legal Writing Program
  • Dara Onofrio '87, Attorney, Onofrio Law
  • Michael Pollack, Assistant Professor of Law
  • Elissa Rivera '18, J.D. Candidate
  • Sooim Shin '19, J.D. Candidate
  • Vivek Vashi '18, LL.M. Candidate
  • Carissa Vogel, Associate Dean for Library Services, Director of the Law Library and Professor of Legal Research
  • Jeanne Widerka, Assistant Dean for Admissions
  • Noel Williams '87, Associate Penino & Moynihan LLP

Committee on Careers

  • Parvin Aminolroaya '08, Associate, Seeger Weiss LLP
  • Carey Bertolet Grand, Assistant Dean of Career Services
  • Wesley Cheng '08, Associate General Counsel, Office of the MTA Inspector General
  • Betsy Ginsberg, Clinical Associate Professor of Law and Director, Civil Rights Clinic
  • Phillip Hamilton '09, Attorney, The Law Office of Phillip Hamilton PLLC
  • Andrew Hannibal '12, Counsel, Sesame Workshop
  • Edwin Kim '18, J.D. Candidate
  • Joel Jesin '18, J.D. Candidate
  • Hon. Tanya Kennedy '92, Supreme Court, Civil Branch, New York County
  • Barbara Kolsun '82, Professor of Practice and Co-Director, Fashion, Arts, Media & Entertainment (FAME) Law Center
  • Sun Ah (Michelle) Park '12, Associate, Wilson Elser LLP
  • Lee Pham '10, Director of Global Intellectual Property Strategy, American Express
  • Anthony Sebok, Professor of Law
  • Aashini Shrivastav '19, J.D. Candidate

Committee on Community Engagement

  • Stephanie Alvarez-Jones '18, J.D. Candidate
  • Christine Arlene N. Arrozal, Director, Dean's Office and Director, Academic Affairs
  • Kirsty Dymond '12, Director, Student Services and Advising
  • Michelle Greenberg-Kobrin, Director, the Indie Film Clinic and Assistant Clinical Professor and Director, the Leadership Program at the Heyman Center for Corporate Governance
  • Joshua Epstein, Director, Graduate & International Programs
  • Emily Foster '18, J.D. Candidate
  • Samantha Hamidan '18, J.D. Candidate
  • Kendea Johnson, Clinical Fellow, Criminal Defense Clinic
  • Jennifer Kim, Director, Office of Externships
  • Inez Lano, Director, Alumni Affairs
  • Luis Rodriguez '18, J.D. Candidate
  • Jason Starr '10, Assistant Counsel, New York State Executive Chamber
  • Jaya Vasandani '10, Co-Director, Women & Justice Project
  • Travis Wong '18, J.D. Candidate
  • Ekow Yankah, Professor of Law