The purpose of the Cardozo Art Law Society is for students with an interest in the subject to discuss developments and trends in the field, meet with legal practitioners and other related professionals, such as artists, curators and collectors, and to build Cardozo's reputation as a leader in this emerging niche practice area.


See our website for current events, internships, and art law news.

You can also find us on Facebook.

2013-2014 Executive Board 

President – Amanda Hamilton
Vice President – Kristen Niven
Treasurer – Daniel Day
Secretary – Yunghun Yoo

Art Law Faculty

Full-Time Faculty

Melanie Leslie (B.A., 1983, University of Oregon; J.D., 1991, Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law)

Areas of Expertise: Trusts & Estates, Non-Profit Governance, Property

Monroe E. Price (B.A., 1960; LL.B., 1964, Yale University)

Areas of Expertise: Communications law, art law, regulation of mass media
Recent Publications: Objects of Remembrance: A Memoir of American Opportunities and Viennese Dreams(2009)


Adjunct Faculty

Jo Backer Laird (A.B., 1975, M.P.A., 1980, Princeton University; J.D., 1980, Columbia University)
Of Counsel with Patterson, Belknap, Webb & Tyler LLP
Taught: Art Law

Lucille A. Roussin  (B.A., 1969; Ph.D., 1974, Columbia University;  J.D., 1996, Cardozo School of Law)
Teaches: Remedies for Wartime Confiscations;  Cultural Heritage Law (Spring 2011)
Recent publications: “Cultural Heritage and Identity,” 11 Cardozo Journal of International and Comparative Law707 (2003); “Holocaust-Era Looted Art: The Route into the United States,” in the International Foundation for Art Research Journal, Vol.5 (2002).     
Sandy Cobden (J.D. Cardozo School of Law)
Art Law (Spring 2011)

Barbara Kolsun (J.D., 1982, Cardozo School of Law)
Stuart Weitzman, LLC
Fashion Law (Spring 2011)
To learn more about Professor Kolsun, see review.


Visiting Faculty

Susan Scafidi
Cultural Property Law (Spring 2010)
Renata Salecl

Miriam Aziz

Art Law Society Speaker Series

Spring 2012 Speaker Series

  • L. Eden Burgess (Mar. 26, 2011), DC attorney who was involved with such cases as Malewicz v. City of Amsterdamand Vineberg v. Bissonnette will discuss the pros and cons of practicing art law outside of New York.
  • Hon. Barbara Jaffe (Mar. 5, 2011), a New York civil court judge and an art historian, Barbara Jaffe, will speak about her career, art law, and depiction of judgment in Gerard David's " The Judgment of Cambyses." Refreshments will be served. Please RSVP if you would like to attend.
  • Jeffrey E. Tabak (Feb. 15, 2011), co-head of the private equity fund formation practice of Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP will discuss the why and the how of handling pro bono matters for art and museum clients. Tabak is a trustee and secretary of the Museum of Jewish Heritage: A Living Memorial to the Holocaust and serves as counsel to the Board of Directors of the National September 11 Memorial and Museum at the World Trade Center Foundation.
  • Alison Lonshein (Feb. 6, 2011), Associate General Counsel of the Frick Museum will discuss nonprofit governance issues as they pertain to a museum.


Fall 2011 Speaker Series

  • Richard A. Altman (Oct. 12, 2011), discussed his recent cases including Marchig v. Christie’s Inc. and  Orkin v. Swiss Confederation.
  • Nick Holmes (Oct. 19, 2011) -- GC of the Whitney Museum, Holmes addressed “Legal Issues in a Contemporary Art Museum: Balancing Interests of Artists and Museums.”  
  • Raymond J. Dowd (Nov. 9, 2011) -- talented commercial litigator, Dowd discussed his philosophy on restitution of Nazi era looted art in a talk entitled "Litigating Grosz v. MoMA"
  • Michael McCullough (Nov. 30, 2011), customs law and international art trade specialist, presented a lecture-tutorial on issues of note vis-a-vis the U.S. Customs and Border Protection and valuation and tariff classification of art.


Spring 2011 Speaker Series

  • John Cahill (Apr. 6, 2011), prominent litigator and transactional lawyer will discuss art insurance coverage disputes, including Philadelphia Museum v. AXA.
  • Julia Chu (Mar. 2, 2011) discusses tax consequences for art collectors through the UBS Private Planning and philanthropy consulting platform of UBS Trust Co. Follow up.
  • Jo Backer Laird (Feb. 2, 2011), art and museum law specialist, discusses recent cases and "Legal Canvas," newsletter produced by PBLT.


Fall 2011 Speaker Series

  • Molly Dilworth (September 28, 2010) discusses working on public art commissions and negotiating contracts;
  • Panel: Barnes Willing (October 4, 2010)
  • Massimo Sterpi (October 11, 2010) discusses Italian Art Law and"transformative use" of art works;
  • Dean Nicyper (October 20, 2010) discusses proposed Art Consignments amendments to the New York Arts and Cultural Affairs Law


Spring 2010 Speaker Series

Fall 2009 Speaker Series

  • Assemblyman Richard Brodsky (October 7, 2009) discusses legislation proposed that would prohibit deaccession in museums.
  • Jo Backer Laird, Esq. (October 28, 2009) discusses several different careers within art law.
  • Rachel Waranch, Esq. (November 3, 3009) discusses pursuing a career in fashion law.
  • Alice Segal, Esq. (November 11, 2009) explains how U.S. agencies use customs laws to prosecute cases involving smuggled art.

Jennifer A. Kreder, Esq. (November 18, 2009) discusses various aspects of litigation over Nazi-looted art.



Co-President: Toni Mione

Co-President: Azure Wheeler

Secretary: Brian Farkas

Treasurer: Penelope Fisher

Marketing Chair: Sara Hanson


Co-President: Irina Tarsis

Co-President: Stephanie Tannenholtz (Fall 2010)

Secretary: Ann-Margret Gidley

Treasurer: Jennifer Goltche (Spring 2011)
                  Anette Perez  (Fall 2010)

Marketing Chair: Sara Hanson (Spring 2011)

Chief Rapporteur: Melissa Sink

Special Events: Rachel Teitelbaum

Blog Contributors: Caroline Camp, Michael Massmann, Melissa Sink, Irina Tarsis


Co-President: Irina Tarsis

Co-President: Ilona Logvinova

Treasurer: Courtney Doagoo

Alumni Liaison: Stephanie Spangler

Secretary: Ben Hughes

Chief Rapporteur: Caroline Camp

Webmaster: Jacob Rossman


Co-President: Ilona Logvinova

Co-President: Irina Tarsis