Dinner Committee

Mark S. Yagerman ’79
Jeffrey S Mailman ’09

Alissa D. Makower ’92
Alumni Association Chair

Rosemary C. Byrne ’80
Sanford J. Hausler ’87
Paul Indig ’90
Rachel Jacobs ’13
Jessica Klotz ’93
Bobbi A. Langer ’82
Aviva Miller ’84
Vivien G. Naim ’88
Vincent J. Roldan ’98
Ilene Siegel-Deutsch ’96
Daniel Schnapp ’00
Pedram Tabibi ’09
Liana D. Walczak ’07
Ken Weiss ’88
Alla Zayenchik ’13

Buy Tickets

2015 Alumni of the Year

Hon. Tanya R. Kennedy ’92 is an Acting Supreme Court Justice and Supervising Judge of Civil Court, New York County. Since her election to Civil Court in 2005, Justice Kennedy has presided in the Criminal and Civil Courts of the City of New York, as well as the Family and Supreme Courts of the State of New York. Since 2006, she has taught a juvenile justice seminar course as an Adjunct Professor at Fordham University School of Law.

Since 2002, Justice Kennedy has been a member of Cardozo’s Alumni Association Executive Committee, where she served as Corresponding Secretary and Activities Committee Chair. She is also a member of Cardozo’s Black Asian Latino Law Student Alumni Association, the Dean’s Council on Public Service and the Dean’s Advisory Council. Justice Kennedy has mentored Cardozo students and participated in student-organized panels. She also served as an instructor for Cardozo’s ITAP program in the winter 2012 and 2013 sessions and as keynote speaker at the 2013 Student Orientation, as well as addressed law students at Cardozo’s multi-cultural Alumni-Student reception. In 2011, she received the BALLSA Alumni Award.

Justice Kennedy is committed to the pursuit of higher education, Her greatest pride and joy is the speakers’ bureau she founded in October 2011 which targets at-risk youth. Guests are invited to discuss their past mistakes and life difficulties, as well as to provide advice on how to avoid the same pitfalls that the guests previously encountered.

Justice Kennedy also promotes the advancement and empowerment of women through her membership in the Greater New York Chapter of the Links, Inc., the New York Coalition of 100 Black Women, and Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., Tau Omega Chapter. In addition, Justice Kennedy is a life member and board member of the NAACP Mid-Manhattan Branch, as well as a member of the Abyssinian Baptist Church.

Justice Kennedy is a member of various bar organizations, including the New York State Bar Association, and the Metropolitan Black Bar Association, where she is a board member. She is the recipient of many community service awards, including the 2014 NAACP Mid-Manhattan Branch’s Outstanding Community Service Award and the 2013 Brooklyn Technical High School Alumni Foundation’s Distinguished Alumni Award; the 2013 New York Coalition of 100 Black Women’s Beacon Award.

Marc Lieberstein, Esq. ’92 is a partner with Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP. Marc practice focuses on intellectual property licensing and franchising in the commercial and industrial design area. He also counsels on creating effective strategies for procuring, protecting and enforcing client’s global intellectual property assets. Marc frequently lectures and writes for a variety of IP organizations and publications, including International Trademark Association (INTA) and the New York State Bar Association (NYSBA) Intellectual Property Section.

Marc was recognized as a New York “Super Lawyer” in Intellectual Property by Super Lawyers magazine from 2009-2014, and, for the last four years, Marc was named a Top 100 New York Metro "Super Lawyer" in Intellectual Property. He has been recognized as an "IP Star" in 2013 and 2014 by Managing Intellectual Property magazine.

Marc has been an extraordinary Cardozo Alumni leader. As Chair of the Alumni Association Executive Committee from 2004 – 2009, Marc played a pivotal role in the transformation of the Alumni Association and Executive Committee. Marc introduced the idea for the Cardozo Alumni of Year Award Dinner, and after stepping down as Chair, Marc served as Dinner Chair for two highly successful dinners raising significant sums of money for the Cardozo Annual Fund. Marc also developed the first Cardozo Alumni Practice Groups, and Regional Alumni Network Groups. Marc currently chairs the Alumni Association Pro Bono committee, and is past Chair of its Career Development Committee. Marc is an active participant in the Cardozo Mentorship and Alumni-Student programs, where he has spent considerable time advising and speaking to Cardozo students about their careers and finding employment in the intellectual property field.

In addition to his Cardozo activities, Marc serves on the Executive Committee for the NYSBA Intellectual Property Section, where he was Chair from 2002-2004, and currently serves as Co-Chair of the Litigation Committee. Marc is also active in INTA and was chair of the INTA Law Firm Committee, and currently serves as Sub-Committee Chair for the Neutrals and Standards Sub-Committee for the INTA Alternative Dispute Resolution Committee. Marc also currently serves as the Chair of the Fashion Law Committee for the New York City Bar Association.

Marc and his family live on Long Island where he is involved in many community activities including as Director and coach of the Young Israel of Plainview Little League and Basketball coach for the Police Athletic League (P.A.L.). He has been on the Board of Trustees for the Young Israel of Plainview, and on the Board of Directors for the Hebrew Academy of Nassau County (HANC).

Prof. Monroe E. Price was Cardozo’s second Dean from 1982 to 1991. His vision and leadership made Cardozo a powerhouse in entertainment, intellectual property law and communications by attracting faculty members and students passionate about the law, art and technology. He worked with students to found and build the Arts & Entertainment Law Journal, one of the first of its kind, as a repository of scholasrship in this exciting field.

As Dean, Monroe Price cemented Cardozo’s reputation as a place where intellectual discourse thrives. Not only did he augment the faculty with nationally and internationally recognized scholars, but he also instituted merit scholarships, thus attaching many potential leaders to a fledgling law school. He helped faculty and students establish the Jacob Burns Institute for Advanced Legal Studies, several of Cardozo’s clinics, including Bet Tzedek, the Intensive Trial Advocacy Program and the Alexander Judicial Fellowship program all of which enhanced the reputation of the law school and helped to launch the careers of many Cardozo alumni.

Since stepping down as Dean, Monroe Price has continued to contribute to Cardozo. Through the Howard M. Squadron Program in Law Media and Society, he has fostered annual Squadron Fellowships in media and entertainment field. He remains the Joseph and Sadie Danciger Professor at Cardozo.

Dean Price is the Director of the Center for Global Communication Studies at the University of Pennsylvania’s Annenberg School for Communication. In 2008 The Price International Media Law Moot Court was established at the University of Oxford in recognition of his founding of the University’s Programme in Comparative Media Law and Technology. The Regional Rounds in the Americas of this competition is hosted annually at Cardozo. He is the author of dozens of books, chapters, journal articles and other publications and reports. His vision continues to push legal scholarship to new frontiers in the emerging spheres of technology, media, communications policy and the law.

For more information, call the Office of Alumni Affairs at 212.790.0293 or e-mail CardozoAlumniEvents@yu.edu.